2024 6th International Conference on Energy Systems and Electrical Power(ICESEP 2024)
Home / Speakers



Marc Rosen, RSC Fellow, CAE Fellow 

 Ontario Tech University, Canada

Speech title: Sustainability and Electric Vehicles

BIO: Dr. Rosen, a Professor with Ontario Tech’s Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS) in the Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, was one of 102 new Fellows named by the RSC on September 6. Recognition by the RSC for career achievement is the highest honour an individual can attain in the Arts, Social Sciences and Sciences in Canada. This is the first time in the university’s history that a nominee from Ontario Tech has been selected for a RSC Fellowship.

Dr. Rosen, whose career achievements include a distinguished list of fellowships and awards for contributions to mechanical engineering and the engineering profession, is a leader in the areas of energy, exergy, heat transfer, and thermofluids engineering. His research, publications and industry partnerships have led to increased efficiency in traditional energy systems and improved alternative energy technologies, as well as a new understanding of how to meaningfully quantify sustainability and greater environmental stewardship in the areas of energy and engineering. He has also had a tremendous impact on Canadian engineering through his leadership in academia and professional societies. Dr. Rosen received his Bachelor of Applied Science (Engineering Science), Master of AppliedScience (Mechanical Engineering) and PhD (Mechanical Engineering) from the University of Toronto. He served as the Founding Dean of FEAS when Ontario Tech opened in 2003.


Zhe Chen, IEEE Fellow, IET Fellow

Aalborg University, Denmark

BIO: Zhe Chen (Fellow, IEEE) received the B.Eng. and M.Sc. degrees from the Northeast China Institute of Electric Power Engineering, Jilin, China, and the Ph.D. degree from the University of Durham, Durham, U.K.,He is a Full Professor with the Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University, Denmark. He is the Leader of Wind Power System Research Program at the Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University. He has led many research projects and has more than 800 publications in his technical field. His research areas include power systems, power electronics, and electric machines; and his main current research interests are wind energy and modern power systems.

Zhe Chen is a Fellow of IET, a Chartered Engineer in the U.K., a Fellow of IEEE, and a member of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences.

Wei Xu, IET Fellow, IEEE Senior Member, IEEE IES Wuhan Chapter Chairman
Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

BIO: Wei Xu (SM’13) received the double B.E. and M.E. degrees from Tianjin University, Tianjin, China, in 2002 and 2005, and the Ph.D. from the Institute of Electrical Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences, in 2008, respectively, all in electrical engineering. His research topics mainly focus on design and control for linear machines (LMs) and drives. From 2008 to 2012, he made Postdoctoral Fellow with University of Technology Sydney, Vice Chancellor Research Fellow with Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Japan Science Promotion Society Invitation Fellow with Meiji University, respectively. Since 2013, he has been Full Professor with School of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China. He is Fellow of the Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET). He is the General Chair for 2021 International Symposium on Linear Drives for Industry Applications (LDIA 2021) and 2023 IEEE International Conference on Predictive Control of Electrical Drives and Power Electronics (PRECEDE 2023), both in Wuhan, China. He has been Associate Editor for over ten international peer-review journals, including IEEE Trans. Industrial Electronics,  etc. He has authored/edited 8 books, published over 160 IEEE Trans. papers, been granted over 130 invention patents in the related field of LMs and drives.

Yun Wang, ASME Fellow, RSC Fellow
University of California, Irvine, USA

BIO: Yun Wang received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Mechanics and Engineering Science from Peking University in 1998 and 2001, respectively. He went to the Pennsylvania State University where he earned his Ph.D degree in Mechanical Engineering in 2006. Dr. Wang joined the MAE (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering) faculty at the University of California, Irvine in 2006. He has produced over 100 publications in PEM fuel cell, Li-air battery, and other energy systems, including three books on PEM Fuel Cell and a Practical Handbook of Thermal Fluid Science. Dr. Wang served as Track chair/co-chair, session chair/co-chair, conference chair and committee member for many international conferences on fuel cell, thermal energy, and machine learning. Dr. Wang received 2018 Reviewer of The Year from the Journal of Electrochemical Energy Conversion and Storage and is currently Professor at the UC Irvine, ASME fellow, RSC fellow, and associate editor for the journal of heat and mass transfer.


Yixiao Luo, IEEE Member

Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China

BIO: Yixiao Luo, Associate Professor, "East Lake Scholar"of Huawei, IEEE member. Dr. Luo received B.E. degree from Wuhan University, China in 2013, and M.E. degree from Hanyang University, South Korea in 2015, and the Ph.D. degree from City University of Hong Kong, China in 2019. From 2019 to 2020, he was one Senior Engineer in Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute. From 2020 to 2022, he was one Postdoctoral Fellow in Hong Kong Polytechnic University. In March 2022, he joined the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Huazhong University of Science and Technology. He is mainly engaged in the research of high-performance permanent magnet motor drive control and power electronics, including multi-degree-of-freedom motor control, high-efficiency model predictive control, fault-tolerant control and self-anti-disturbance control, and matrix converter control. Currently, he has published more than 10 SCI papers as first author/corresponding author, with cumulative impact factor over 70 and over 400 citations.